Department of Transport and Main Roads

Department of Transport and Main Roads has been recognised as an ABA100 Winner for CX Management in The Australian Business Awards 2018. The Australian Business Award for CX Management recognises organisations that have successfully implemented initiatives that demonstrate excellence in customer experience management.

The Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR) is responsible for shaping Queensland’s transport system, building the network, managing use of the system, and providing passenger services for all Queenslanders. TMR is responsible for a large portion of Queensland’s transport industry and state and federal allocated transport budgets. This means it is extremely important to drive improved financial performance as well as focusing on revenue and growth opportunities. To do this, TMR’s main focus is to to put the customer at the centre of everything they do.

In order to truly transform customer experiences, TMR has a strong business and service delivery model. TMR’s Customer Experience Transformation Program (CETP) was established in 2015 with the clear objective to work with the business, with its people and with its customers.

This program works across the department to support and continue to build TMR’s capacity to listen to the voice of its customers. TMR does this by utilising human-centred design methodologies and practices. By doing this, TMR strives to provide a seamless customer experience across all touch points in Queensland’s transport network.

The CETP collaborates with customers, stakeholders and TMR employees to co-design positive, customer-centric solutions. To facilitate this, TMR has built a customer research, design and insights function to support the department’s capacity to capture the voice of the customer, voice of the business and voice of TMR people.

The CETP has been designed to support and facilitate change while empowering employees and TMR customers. The CETP is building and supporting an organisation that drives customer-centred design thinking. The program wants customers to feel that they are valued, listened to and that their feedback is reflected in the department’s actions and outcomes. The end vision of the CETP is that TMR is recognised as a leader in customer experience and that it is an example of excellence in customer centred co-design.

Department of Transport and Main Roads

For more information on the Department of Transport and Main Roads go to

The Australian Business Awards are an annual comprehensive awards program which recognises organisations that demonstrate the core values of business innovation, product innovation, technological achievement and employee engagement via a set of established business and product award categories.

The Australian Business Awards are the national chapter of an integrated, hierarchical leadership initiative conducted on a national and international level. Eligible organisations are invited to participate in the international chapter of the program at The World Business Awards whereby participants are provided with the unique opportunity to benchmark themselves against the top performers globally.

The process culminates in the selection of organisations which implement world-class business initiatives, projects, products and services. The award recipients are recognised as the elite of their industry earning a place amongst a distinguished group by having their achievements acknowledged and celebrated.

Organisational eligibility includes private companies, publicly listed companies, multinational subsidiaries, not-for-profit organisations, non-government organisations, educational institutions, franchise systems, partnerships, government departments, government agencies, local government and statutory bodies operating in Australia.

Organisations are required to complete a submission for a specific business initiative, product or service.

Business initiatives can include but are not limited to projects, programs, processes, systems, technologies, developments, ventures and undertakings.

Products can include but are not limited to services, devices, equipment, programs, processes, activities, applications, information, knowledge, software, cloud-based services, platforms, systems and manufactured goods. Products must be commercially available on the Australian market and comply with all applicable Australian standards and regulatory requirements. Product eligibility includes domestic and international products available to the Australian marketplace.

The World Business Awards Framework (WBA Framework) is utilised as a structured model of assessment that enables the participating organisations to be benchmarked against world class performance standards.

The Framework consists of specialised assessment modules pertaining to the evaluation criteria for each of the award categories. The criteria and sub-criteria provide a robust set of requirements that are used as the methodology for benchmarking and learning among the participating organisations.

Organisations that demonstrate the core values of business innovation, product innovation, technological achievement and employee engagement are recognised via a set of established business and product award categories.

The program provides a notable opportunity for high-performing organisations which implement world-class business initiatives and develop innovative products and services to be acknowledged and celebrated for their achievements both nationally and internationally.

Conducted annually, the program engages with organisations worldwide to benchmark the full spectrum of their products, services and initiatives and to review their business performance through a global recognition and knowledge building initiative that is underpinned by the program’s established framework.

The program provides the ultimate platform for building knowledge, increasing brand awareness, equity, loyalty and retention through increased exposure, recognition and prestige.

Share: CX Management Awards

Register for Updates

How to Participate in the Awards

2019 Entry Guidelines now available.
Register for Updates